The EAB comprises five members (a BT Group plc non-executive director and chairman of the EAB; a BT senior manager; and three independent members). 

Isabel Hudson, ChairmanIsabel Hudson
Chair of the EAB

Isabel Hudson was appointed to the BT Group plc Board on 1 November 2014, chairs the Pension Committee and was appointed as chair of the EAB on 1 February 2016. Isabel sits on the boards of Standard Life and Phoenix Group Holdings, the UK’s largest closed life and pension fund consolidator. Isabel is chair of the National House Building Council (NHBC). Previous non-executive director positions held have included: MGM Advantage (an annuity based mutual insurer) where she was chair of the audit committee, The Pension Regulator and QBE Insurance Group (based in Australia), one of the largest property casualty global insurers (where she chaired the remuneration committee). Isabel was previously executive director of Prudential UK, CEO of Synesis Life, a specialist annuity pensions buy-out life insurer, CFO of Eureko and also worked for GE Capital, the Lloyd’s insurance market and Royal Insurance. Isabel has 35 years’ experience in the insurance industry in the UK and mainland Europe. She is also an ambassador for Scope, the disability charity. 

Edward AstleEdward Astle, Independent

Edward was Pro Rector Enterprise at Imperial College London from 2008 to 2013. Since 2009 he has also been a non-executive director and member of the Risk & Audit Committee of Intertek, the FTSE 100 international testing and inspecting group. Edward was executive director of National Grid plc from 2001 to 2008, responsible for their telecommunications-related businesses (most notably wireless infrastructure); non-executive chair of three telecommunications ventures 1999-2001; managing director of BICC Communications (and a director of BICC Group) from 1997 to 1999; and an executive and regional director of Cable & Wireless plc from 1989 to 1997. Previously he held senior business strategy positions in the UK and France. He is vice chair of the Shannon Trust and a non-executive member of the board of the University of Manchester.

Emin GurdenliEmin Gurdenli, Independent 

Emin is a founding member and the chairman of Azenby, an independent advisory business for the wireless industry. He is an independent director of Bakcell in Azerbaijan and advises private equity firms and technology start-up companies. His career has included ten years in R&D with BT and start-up experience of building and operating T-Mobile’s UK network. Then, in the last ten years, he has held executive roles within Deutsche Telekom and most recently was in charge of Network Services in Everything Everywhere. Emin has served as a board member of T-Mobile International (UK) and Mobile Broadband Networks Ltd, as well as being a board observer with Nomad Digital and Ubiquisys.  

Stephanie ListonStephanie Liston, Independent

Stephanie is chief legal advisor to the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of the British Virgin Islands, senior counsel to Coffey Graham (UK) Limited, business development director of Fentiman Consultants Limited, associate director of Innovation Advisors, advisory board member of PUSH Technology Limited and Digi-Me Limited and co-chairs the International Chapters Committee of the Federal Communications Bar Association. Stephanie is a qualified lawyer in the US and UK and has been a senior partner in a number of leading international law firms. She served as a non-executive director of Ofcom and as a member of its Audit Committee from 2005 to 2008, an advisory board member of Orga Systems GmbH from 2010 to 2014, a director of the European Competitive Telecommunications Association (ECTA) from 2000 to 2005 and co-chairman of the Communications Committee of the International Bar Association from 2004-2006.

Dr Tim Whitley, BT senior managerDr Tim Whitley
BT senior manager

Tim is managing director of Research and Innovation and of BT’s Adastral Park research and development facility. He started working for BT in 1981 as an apprentice engineer in North Wales, and has since held roles in areas including optics research, technology consultancy and technical architecture and has served as BT’s Group Strategy Director. Tim is also a Policy Fellow with the Centre for Science & Policy, University of Cambridge and a Fellow of the Institute of Telecommunications Professionals (ITP).

EAB Secretary

The EAB is supported by the EAB Secretary, who ensures the EAB meets all of its governance and legal obligations under the Undertakings and supports the EAB Chairman in managing the activities and operations of the EAB. The Secretary is Lucy Williams. 

The EAB signed Terms of Reference as required by the Undertakings.